Qun Zhong Eating House (re-opened as Jing Hua Xiao Chi)

Actually I’ve been to this place very long ago since my JC classmate’s dad owns the eatery~ haha. So my classmate is the “Young Master” dere wor~ hee…

Having moved into Duxton, now its within walking distance to the eatery which is located at Neil Road.

I like the Pan-fried dumpling there, as it is fried to slightly brownish and very crispy. I like to eat it with the chilli, which was meant more for the minced-pork noodles (I think).

Minced-pork noodles is nice too. I’ve tried similar noodles at other chinese restaurants but I liked the sauce of this simple dish. As you can see it only has noodles, minced-pork and thinly slicked cucumber.

We ordered the Xiao Long Bao as well, but personally I felt that the skin is slightly too mushy for my taste.

Highly recommended dish is the dessert – Red Bean Paste Pancake. Though I didn’t order this time, I’m sure it still tasted crispy and nice as before.

Its easy to locate the shop cos you’ll see a crowd of people outside the row of shophouses along Neil Road. Due to limited shop space, I think reservation is not accepted as they only seat guests when ALL guests arrived. Believe me as I witnessed how the boss stopped a group of 4 from entering when they claimed that 1 person is parking the car…

[Updates on 1st Jul 2011]

Qun Zhong Eating House is closed.

[Updates on 2nd Dec 2011]

Passed by in car today, saw that there’s some interior renovation work going on at the unit where Qun Zhong Eating House was. The signboard of Qun Zhong is still hung up there. Hope it’ll re-open soon.

[Updates on 27th Dec 2011]

Walked by today, saw that the shop area has expanded to the unit next door. Seems like there’ll be a larger floor space for the shop when they reopen. They should be reopening quite soon.

[Updates on 25th Feb 2012]

Can confirm that they are finally re-opened for business! Business hours in pix below. And I also tried the Red Bean Paste Pancake but it wasn’t as crispy as what I remembered it to be. Shop space expanded so it is slightly more spacious but queue is still unavoidable.

[Updates on 23th Aug 2013]

Jing Hua Restaurant opened their first branch at 159 Rochor Road, Bugis Village S188434

Weekdays: 11.30am – 3.30pm, 5.30pm – 10.oopm
Weekends & PH: 11.30am – 10.oopm

Haven’t tried the food there so unable to compare quality between 2 outlets.

[Updates on 18th Jul 2014]

Visited the Bugis Village outlet. I like the bright and neat environment, more spacious and comfortable than the Neil road one.

[Updates on 27th Nov 2014]

Was at Palais Renaissance to eat at Sushi Kuu when I saw the signage for Jing Hua Xiao Chi in the mall! What a surprise. They’ve opened a 3rd outlet in the “atas” mall.

This entry was posted in Casual, Chinese, Singapore and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Qun Zhong Eating House (re-opened as Jing Hua Xiao Chi)

  1. xinhui5Apple says:

    Yay!! I was so sad when I thought they had closed down for good. Thanks for your update!

  2. Ginnie says:

    I don’t knwo if this is true, but I heard from a friend who is their frequent customer that they will be reopening next Thurs (9 Feb 12)! Looking forward to it!

  3. Anonymous says:

    can ask why is it closed?

  4. AC says:

    Hi there, could you please provide me the exact address for Qun Zhong Eating House? The last time I went to Neil Road they’ve closed… if it weren’t for your blog, I wouldn’t have know they’ve moved and are still in business… a friend of mine from UK will be here this week and I’m thinking of taking her there for her to try out the food… would appreciate if you can get back to me asap please. thanks so much!

    • Hi, Qun zhong Eating House is at 21 Neil Road. You are right that they are closed, I’ve noticed that since about 1 month ago. Not sure if they are closed temporarily or wld re-open soon. Will update once they are re-opened.
      Perhaps, you can consider trying Din Tai Fung instead? Its other fav dumpling place of mine. Din Tai Fung was awarded 1 Michelin star in their Hong Kong outlets. Other than their usual dumplings, from 1st Jul – 31 Aug 2011 they are serving the limited edition Steamed Chilli Crab dumpling (slightly spicy).

Leave a Reply

