Juchheim

We got a cake from a colleague who bought at Takashimaya Shopping Centre Basement 2. When I open the plastic bag and saw the box printed Juchheim, I didn’t recognise the confectionery brand untill I open the box and saw the round Baumkuchen cake inside. Then I remember that I had first tried the Juchheim Baumkuchen cake when I visited Japan in 2009~ At that time its still not available in Singapore yet. I didn’t know that they had opened a stall in Singapore recently.

The Baumkuchen cake – a traditional German cake, looks like our Kueh Lapis in Singapore except that Baumkuchen is round and is more buttery. However I felt that the ones in Japan are softer than the version I ate here.

We all know that hand-made Kueh Lapis are never cheap cos of the amount of work involved to layer the cake.

So for the price to buy a Baumkuchen, I think would rather buy sliced cakes from Flor Patisserie or Glace Patisserie…hee

[Updates on 3rd Dec 11]

Went taka, so manage to pass by the Juchheim store. The different coloured boxes used for different size of the cake, in terms of the “height”.

This entry was posted in Pastry, Singapore and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

