Tea Lounge, Regent Hotel

Tea Lounge at Regent Hotel is said to be a perennial favourite afternoon tea place in Singapore hence I had high expectations of them. Dropped by on a weekday afternoon without reservations, although they were pretty occupied but still managed to get a seat.

Ordered an Afternoon Tea Set comprising of finger sandwiches, scones, pastries, savoury items and dessert served on a 3-tier stand along with free-flow tea.

I liked the way they presented the tea box for selection of tea leaves. I opted for the Regent Blend tea after smelling the leaves in the labelled bottles.

Sadly other than the tea and the dessert, I didn’t quite enjoy the pastries. I can’t taste the fillings of the finger sandwiches, even the supposedly popular scones tasted teeny-weeny dry for my liking.

Tea Lounge Regent Hotel

Perhaps my expectations was too high or I was too pampered, the afternoon tea set felt disappointing. Luckily I only ordered 1 set for 2 person to share, even with that we couldn’t finish the items. Attempted to ask for packing to takeaway the unfinished portion but was told they don’t allow that. Not wanting to let the food go to waste, we ended up having a bite in each of the items – at least that’s why I could now share that I didn’t enjoy most of the items.

Would try the afternoon tea at St. Regis or Shangri-la Hotel nearby, hopefully they fare much better.

Other related posts:

This entry was posted in Bistro & Cafe, Pastry, Singapore and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

