Chye Seng Huat Hardware

My visit to Chye Seng Huat Hardware was akin to the story of Romance of Three Kingdoms – 三顾茅庐. Only managed to try their coffee on my 3rd attempt, as during my first 2 visits they were full and only left outdoor seats which were hot & humid at mid-noon…

This time round when a colleague suggested to visit them, I was kinda half-hearted, didn’t bear hopes of getting any seats. However I was pleasantly surprised to get so lucky as to get proper table and chair seats indoor.

One of my colleagues had tried their Orange Financiers before and bought some for us to taste it while I ordered a Flat White.

Chye Seng Huat Hardware

Anyone noticed to small “Huat Ah” printed at the bottom of the number tag? Too bad I didn’t strike 4D from this “inspiration”…

Chye Seng Huat Hardware_02

Somehow it just dawned on me that unlike most of the cafes overseas whereby people can slowly sip their coffee/tea, read the newspapers and spend a leisurely afternoon; most cafes in Singapore are so packed, bustling with activities, filled with loud chatters… Although the cafes serve great coffees, they usually weren’t places for me to feel relaxed or recharged – even with the coffee fix at lunch time. These places aren’t even located in CBD or places with heavy human traffic…Perhaps Singapore is really getting too packed and crowded…

[Updates in Jul 14]

Combining two visits in 1 update. Visited CSHH in Apr earlier and tried their Cod Fillet with seasonal vegetables, dressed with balsamic reduction, on a bed of mashed potatoes. I enjoyed the veg and mash more than the fillet. Found the fillet rather plain.

Another visit in Jul 14 and ordered their Home-made Lemonade which was refreshing! I don’t like sourish things, but found their lemonade very nice.

Chye Seng Huat Hardware_03

Other related posts:

This entry was posted in Bistro & Cafe, Pastry, Singapore and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

