Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants, 2014

The Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2014 awards ceremony was held on 24th February and to be honest, I was surprised to hear the top honour went to Nahm.

Here’s the Top 20 list with links to posts for those that I had visited before, the ranking for 2013 and changes in ranking:

1. Nahm – Bangkok, Thailand (visited in Jul 13, my post) [#3, 2]
2. Narisawa – Tokyo, Japan (my post) [#1, 1]
3. Gaggan – Bangkok, Thailand [#10, 7]
4. Amber – Hongkong, China (my post) [#4, ↔]
5. Nihonryori Ryugin – Tokyo, Japan [#2, 3]
6. Restaurant Andre – Singapore (my post) [#6, 1]
7. Waku Ghin – Singapore [#11, 4] the illusive one…cos my heartaches whenever I think of the $400++ per person price tag…
8. Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet – Shanghai, China [#8, ↔]
9. Lung King Heen – Hong Kong, China [#13, 4]
10. 8 1/2 Otto E Mezzo Bombana – Hongkong, China [#6, 4]
11. Mr and Mrs Bund – Shanghai, China [#7, 4]
12. Iggy’s – Singapore (my post) [#9, 3]
13. Caprice – Hong Kong, China [#12, 1]
14. Les Amis – Singapore (my post) [#14, ↔]
15. Bo Innovation – Hong Kong, China [#15, ↔]
16. Ishikawa – Tokyo, Japan [#42, 26]
17. Jaan – Singapore (visited in Mar 13, my post)  [#22, 5]
18. L’atelier De Joel Rouchon – Hong Kong, China [#23, 5]
19. Fook Lam Moon – Hong Kong, China [#48, 29]
20. Jungsik – Seoul, South Korea [Highest new entry]

Other restaurants in this year’s top 50 that I had visited before includes:

22. Quintessence – Tokyo, Japan (my post) [#16, 6]
28. Bo Lan – Bangkok, Thailand (visited in Jul 13, my post) [#36, 8]
35. Shinji by Kanesaka – Singapore (visited in Sep 13 (my post) [#32, 3]
37. Eat Me – Bangkok, Thailand (visited in Jul 13, my post) [#19, 18]
47. Sarong – Bali, Indonesia (my post) [New entry] visited them back in 2011 but was impressed with their food already

Still hoping to try the other one in Singapore…

40. Imperial Treasure Super Peking Duck – have tried to visit them but the duck was sold out cos we didn’t make advanced reservations…[#49, 9]

The restaurants that I visited before but dropped out of the 2014 list:

Gunther’s – Singapore (my post) [#43]
Mozaic – Bali, Indonesia (my post) [#50]

Other related post:

This entry was posted in Asia's Top 50 Restaurant, Degustation Menu, Singapore and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

