The Royal Mail Restaurant and Bar

Consecutive days of British cuisine for me, after having meal at The Study the night before, I’m at The Royal Mail Restaurant and Bar for Restaurant Week.

Housed inside the Ascott Raffles Place (luxury serviced apartment), I was expecting some grand and elegant set-up. However the place where we were seated made me felt as if I am dining in hotel conference room. I tried to figure out what was it that caused me to feel this way, and I think its the partitioning panels of the place. The room looked like it was partitioned from a bigger hall and was squarish and bare. Not much points scored for ambience at the place, or at least the area that I was seated.

Thankfully other than the first impression of the dining hall, the rest of the aspects made up for the lost points. For a start, the bread was served soft and warm, tasted great too with the butter provided. Had Wagyu Meatballs with Raspberry jam, Homemade Barbeque sauce and chilli flakes for starters. The gravy was nice and the meatballs were chewy.

The Royal Mail_01

Had the Norwegian Salmon and Porcini Mushroom Risotto respectively for the main course. The salmon was well-cooked but nothing to shout about. The porcini mushroom risotto was rich and creamy. Ending our meal with a Chocolate Brownie and Cambridge Burnt Cream. Both were pretty good, though I find the burnt cream a tad too sweet.

Headed over to the bar downstairs for drinks after our meal as there was a live band playing and we were given a 20% off voucher after our meal at the restaurant. Tried the Lovestruck Ginny Gin shaken with watermelon juice, sugar syrup, mint leaves and sweet & sour and Billion Dollar Margarita Tequila and grand mariner shaken with lim juice, garnished with gold flakes. The lovestruck ginny was refreshing and sweet. When paying for the drinks we were informed that the voucher is only applicable for dining and not for alcoholic drinks. Rightfully I shouldn’t be upset since its a voucher given and its subject to terms and conditions stated but the fact was it didn’t state on the voucher that its not applicable to alcoholic beverages… Can’t help but felt slightly cheated…Saw the Palate discount board at the entrace and happily thought I could use my Amex privilege, only to realise my mistake that it’s only applicable for restaurant only and not at the bar. This palate discount restriction was at least printed on the website.

I am still glad that the Restaurant Week promotion allowed me to have the opportunity to try out some of the restaurants that I haven’t been to before.

Other Related Posts:

This entry was posted in Bar & Pub, Restaurant, Set Meal, Singapore, Western and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

