Kin Kin Chilli Pan Mee, Singapore

Kin Kin Chilli Pan Mee, Singapore opened with much hyped about 9 months ago. With some who waited up to 2 hours for a bowl of the chilli pan mee. So much so that there was reports asking people not to go cos the shop couldn’t cope with the surge in customers.

I happened to travel to Macpherson area (an area which I dreaded going cos of poor accessibility and traffic)…so decided to stop by for a meal.

It was a rainy day and I walked into the shop with my umbrella, only to be stopped by the staff and requested me to place my umbrella in the large pail provided outside the shop. While walking towards the door, I realised why the staff were so concerned about customers bringing umbrellas in.  The floor tiles used in the shop were glazed and shiny tiles which will pose a risk of falling due to slippery floor even with the tiniest drop of water. Poor design thinking but at least the staff made concious effort to eliminate the risk by strictly enforcing the “No wet umbrella” rule. They were also seen drying the floor with a towel to keep the place dry.

Sat down at one of the empty tables, completed the order chit and made payment at the cashier counter. After 5 mins, my noodles were here! However from the look of it, it doesn’t excite my taste buds…With 3 meat balls, some minced meat and 1 slightly over-poached egg on the noodles.

Stirred in the “Pan Mee Chilli” – which was the hero that saved the noodles…

Kin Kin Chilli Pan Mee_01

Another gal sat opposite me and ordered the same dish. Her poached egg looked much softer and flowy than mine!!! Sob sob…At $5.50, the portion wouldn’t be sufficient for guys…and I think I can get more ingredients from a Xiao Wan Mian than the Chilli Pan Mee…Guess I’m paying for the Chilli which was the star ingredient…

I’m not sure what’s the draw of this noodle stall, but it certainly doesn’t warrant a 2nd visit from me…

This entry was posted in Casual, Chinese, Singapore and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

